Winter is Coming…

Ahhh probably the most over used line from one of my favourite series, but sadly theres no other way to describe the change in weather the last few days. Gone were the days I could run in a T shirt and not worry about getting a chill. Living on the west coast of Scotland I’m used to the wind and the rain (although I’ll admit that I never run in heavy rain as I don’t want to catch a cold) so I have a pretty good wind and shower proof jacket but up until this week I was fine wearing that and a vest top. Yesterday I wore that AND a long thermal top and was still pretty cold the whole way though my run. I fear that since its only the start of November we might be in for a chilly winter – or it could just be me over exaggerating! I love winter and the chill it brings, as long as I am wrapped in my big coat, hat, scarf and gloves – not running along the clyde in leggings and a thermal top!

Its also been rather soggy in Glasgow this last week although I have a feeling this isn’t really seasonal and just Glasgow doing what it does best! Rain + fresh leaves on the ground resulted in a slippy and mushy run yesterday afternoon – something my new bright beautiful boosts did not thank me for!

IMG_3296

They had already been wiped down and cleaned before this photo. I luckily didn’t have any falls during my run but the ground did feel a little slippy so take a little extra care if you’re running on leaves – even if they look dry!

Apart from the cold and wet, the recent event of putting our clocks back means that running outside is now not allowed past around 4.30. I’ll admit now I am scared of the dark and don’t feel comfortable running in it – even in a busy city centre with street lamps. If, unlike me, you still prefer running at night outside (instead of battling the dreadmill) then don’t forget to be properly prepared – a little LED lamp on your outfit will make running much safer and as well as wearing bright, reflective clothing if you are going to be running near or crossing roads. I hate to sound all dreary and lame, but every year theres reports about people being clipped by cars who were running at night with no reflective gear on, and its so sad.

However on a much cheerier only 49 sleeps until Christmas!! I love this time of year and have asked Santa for a new running belt and maybe a new gym bag. Fingers crossed Santa has looked at my training for this year and deems it worthy of a new belt! Anyone else got any running gear or race entries on their wish lists?

Devon

Leave a comment